It’s all up to you.

A few thoughts rattling around that I want to get out before I sleep…

Self-determination. I see it as essential. It is what underpins my support for access to abortion for anyone who chooses to do so. It’s why I see it as important for people who fuck to be able to do so in any way that works for the ones involved, and why I think that the law needs to back out of the bedroom.

It’s also why I feel it absolutely critical that someone who chooses to end their life have that as an option. Whether that’s someone who is at the end of a long and happy life who is ready to leave, whether that’s someone old and miserable and in the final stages of cancer and asking another person to help them die, whether that’s someone young and hurting for any number of reasons — the ability to determine one’s own course is more important than pretty much anything else.

That’s why I’m not comfortable forcibly preventing someone from suicide. I’m not okay with involving law enforcement to negate the right to self-determination, not to mention all the other ways that cops fuck things up.

And yes, I realize that it may sound contradictory when I say that I’m doing everything I can right now to keep someone I care deeply about from suicide… but I’m not going to force anything. I’m hoping to change a mind, but I also fully acknowledge that the choice is not mine to make.

“My body, my choice!” It’s not just about so-called reproductive rights. And I can’t claim to support doing what I want with my own body if I won’t equally support everyone else in doing the same, no matter how much or how little I agree with their choices.

I’m going to sleep now.

Posted in General. 1 Comment »

One Response to “It’s all up to you.”

  1. James Says:

    Hi, Sophia. This is the first time I’m commenting on your blog, even though I’ve been following it for a while.

    The thing is, I’m very conflicted on this issue. The problem, as I see it, is that most suicide attempts are made impulsively. Sure, at the moment they jumped off the chair they might have been suffering on net, but it’s quite possible that they would be having a life they wanted to live just a month later.

    On the other hand, I totally believe people should be allowed to do as they please with their own lives, including end them. This is a position I’ve argued for quite a bit against overwhelming disagreement (I’m surrounded by Catholics). However, I support the right to end ones life once they’ve thought it through. Impulsive suicides are almost always a bad idea. This is one of the (somewhat rare) times when I think that the “informed” part of “informed consent” really needs to be emphasized. There are no retries or re-spawns. The end is the end.

    Of course, this has already been argued even better here.

    Would like to know what you think.

    Merry [insert festivity of your choice]


Leave a Reply

