Longing to sail on through the night… to the stars

“I am mercury,”
she tells me.
“I know it. I’ve been told
loudly
and often.

rising and falling
unexpected and sudden
when contained
flowing and clinging
silver and fire
when set free

stay near me too long…
you too
will go mad.”

“No,”
I reply.
“You are the moon,
constant,
certain.
even when you think yourself
empty

when you cannot recall
the light you bring
in other moments
I remember
and I wait.

or more truly
you are the tide
oceans flowing over
on your most full days
you have
so much to give
you cannot contain it all
crashing
against the highest rocks

foam
and mist
and undertow
all means of expressing
your love

still on your empty days
I return
to dip my toes
in your quiet
lapping
embrace

to stumble lazy
through the pools
full of treasure
only to be found
in these low moments

sometimes
amid the driftwood
between the seaweed
beneath the clamshells
I find a sparkling gem
or a shining coin
or a bit of brightly-colored glass

I collect these things
place them all
carefully
in my pockets
with a smile

and when
you have returned
with your fullness
as you always do
I share these small
beautiful
things
I give these bright
little
treasures

back to you
to the tide
that brought them to me
I thank you
for allowing me
to find them
and I wait to see
what new treasures
will be revealed
when the tide rolls out
once more
as it always does.”

she smiles,
then pulls me close
and says
“I love you…”
I hold tight
rocking with her
rocking
with the pull
of the tide.

(for MFP)

Leave a Reply

