How do you feel? (I’m lonely…)

there’s a feeling I get
sometimes
searching my mind
for the song to express it
and coming up with empty measures

there’s a feeling I get
sometimes
grasping at words
for analogy to convey it
but it’s almost like… I got nothin’

there’s a feeling I get
sometimes
not quite “longing”
not quite “almost”
not quite “what if”
not quite “what was”

a feeling of “not quite”

where the need to express
is overabundant
and the means to express
is sorely lacking

and this feeling
is made up of the rift
between the two

I still somehow believe
that one day
I will find the song
the lyric reference
and the melody
the music that means this thing

this movement in my heart
this feeling I get

sometimes

Leave a Reply

