Muse calls, I answer. It matters not the time nor place.

Wish For An Epitaph

If one thing may be said of me,
When one day hence I pass away
A phrase to mark my memory —
If one thing may be said of me,

May it not be that they will say
“In memory of our wandering son,
Who lost the path, the chosen way.”
May it not be that they will say

“A truer friend, I knew of none.
No human on the planet’s face
Could give their heart as she has done.
A truer friend, I knew of none.”

Upon my final resting place
I hope they may engrave in stone
Two simple words, one final trace
Upon my final resting place

Two simple words that stand alone,
Two words remain above my head.
Two words that dwell when I am gone,
Two simple words that stand alone:

“She lived.”  And so I hope is said
With peaceful smile and whispered thrill,
“She truly lived! She laughed, she bled,
She sang… She lived, and always will.”

One Response to “Muse calls, I answer. It matters not the time nor place.”

  1. Memorial Daze | Σαφικος Σοφια Says:

    […] do you hold in your memory? what will remain when you have gone? what memorial are you building? will it be forgotten in a […]


Leave a Reply

